Psychotherapy Legislative Alert
Do you believe that the people of Massachusetts should be able to go to body psychotherapists, mind-body psychotherapists, marriage and family psychotherapists, dance therapists, expressive therapists, and a wide variety of other psychotherapists?
If so, your support is needed NOW.
Bill H02004 has been submitted to the Massachusetts House of Representatives, and if passed, would dramatically limit who is allowed to practice psychotherapy in Massachusetts.
All of the kinds of therapies listed above would be excluded, unless the bill is opposed.
Write to Your State Rep to Oppose H02004
You can help oppose house bill H02004 by writing to your State Representative to voice your opposition to limiting the scope of who can practice psychotherapy in MA.
The bill will be heard on June 21, so you immediate action would be greatly appreciated!
Proposed Bill H02004: http://www.malegislature.gov/Bills/187/House/H02004
SECTION 5. Said chapter 112 as appearing in the 2008 Official Edition is hereby amended by inserting after section 65E the following section:- Section 65F. Persons shall not hold themselves out to the public as psychotherapists or represent that the service they are offering is psychotherapy, unless (a) they are currently licensed by the board of registration in medicine and practicing within the scope of such license and have completed training in psychiatry, or (b) they are currently licensed by the board of registration in nursing and are practicing within the scope of such license and have completed training in psychiatric nursing, or (c) they are currently licensed by the board of registration of psychologists, the board of registration of social workers, or the board of registration of allied mental health and human services professionals and they are practicing within the scope of practice of such license, or (d) they are a student, intern, or person fulfilling supervised experience for licensure in the above professions under the qualified supervision of a licensee. Any person who violates this section shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000 for the first offense and by a fine of not more than $2,500 for a second or subsequent offense.
Thanks for your support of body psychotherapy and all forms of mind-body therapy!